Disaster Recovery and VMware, Pre-SRM

A new customer asked me today if I had any experience with Disaster Recovery, and if I was familiar with VMware’s Site Recovery Manager product.  My Sales Associate said “Of course he knows it, He invented SRM”.  I had to correct him, that I did not invent SRM.  However, I was involved in a co-hosted DR project between my former employer, Bowdoin College in Maine, and Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles.  Out of curiosity, I searched Google and found an old video that I shot at VMworld 2006 in Los Angeles.  This video outlines our co-hosted DR project.  This video, followed by a lengthy interview at the Palo Alto campus with the DR group was followed up at VMworld 2007 in San Francisco with a mention in Diane Greene’s keynote and subsequent announcement of Site Recovery Manager.

Anyhow, here’s the link to the interview.  I know, it’s pretty cheezy.  Don’t blame me… VMware did all the post-production work!

VMware and Disaster Recovery at Bowdoin College

About timantz

I am a Solutions Architect at SimpliVity, helping people around the country with their virtualization, storage, backup and recovery projects.
This entry was posted in DR, Uncategorized, virtualization, vmware and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Disaster Recovery and VMware, Pre-SRM

  1. Pingback: Disaster Recovery and VMware, Pre-SRM | whiteboardninja « Quick Disaster Recovery.com

  2. I am doing a clone of a giant vm as a backup my disaster datacenter – then bringing that vm up and just rsyncing the changes as times goes by… the datacenter is only 6 miles away and everything else runs at 100mbps over the vpn (speed of the first datacenter’s internet). this includes iperf with default 8KB window, windows 2008 R2 file copies, ftp, etc. however, even on some really good servers the COPY between hosts only runs at 3Mbps – ever had this happen? Or is “good TCP windowing” something vmware charges for in SRM? thanks!! (we dont use “shared storage” for other reasons)

    • timantz says:

      Affirmed,
      I would take another look at shared storage. There are some very cost-effective solutions out there (Coraid, IOMega, Synology, Drobo, etc) that bring a good features at a nice price point. Aside from that, you may be running into issues due to the fact that you are trying to perform several host-level replications and copies concurrently. None are optimized for low bandwidth or high latency environments of WAN connectivity. If you are at Essentials Plus or better, and are upgrading to vSphere 5.1, you will have access to vSphere Replication. I would recommend that you leverage this for moving your data across to your DR site. By leveraging a true ‘replication engine’, you should see better performance, faster replication times, and easier recovery than relying on copies across the link within hosts.

Leave a Reply

