DIY Stadium Seating for the SuperBowl

Like several people around the country, I host my family and friends for a big SuperBowl party each year.  Being a die-hard Patriots fan, we have recently been blessed with cheering for the home team more often than not.  But regardless of the teams in the big game, we always have a party.

As the event has grown, so had our party attendance.  What started with 9 or 10 people has grown to over 20 most years.  Trying to fit everybody into the living room has been a challenge lately.  This year, I came up with a novel idea to add more seats.  I would add some tiered ‘Stadium Seating’ in my living room with a few cinder blocks (10) and a piece of plywood (5/8 inch)

photo1

To start with, I moved my couch forward away from the wall to give me at least 4 feet of working space.

photo2

I laid down the 10 cinder blocks in order to support the plywood stage sufficiently.

photo3

Once the base was laid properly, I added the 5/8 inch plywood over, bracing it against the wall.

photo4

I moved the couch back so it rested against the plywood to help secure it in place.  Finally, I put 4 chairs up on the platform to add the additional seating.

photo5

I am looking forward to all of my guests, and now we can all sit comfortably in the living room for the SuperBowl!

photo6

About timantz

I am a Solutions Architect at SimpliVity, helping people around the country with their virtualization, storage, backup and recovery projects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DIY Stadium Seating for the SuperBowl

  1. ixobelle says:

    ha! Should have put the sofa up top… those chairs looked prone to falling over, the sofa much sturdier 😉

Leave a Reply

